Lionel Messi Finishes In 5th Place In Ballon d'Or Voting

Lionel Messi Finishes In 5th Place In Ballon d'Or Voting

Lionel Messi Finishes In 5th Place In Ballon d'Or Voting

The Ballon d'Or 2018 ceremony is done and dusted with and after 10 years of Lionel Messi-Cristiano Ronaldo duopoly, we finally have a new victor in Luka Modric. He was voted player of the tournament.

According to citing Sport Witness, the Real Madrid star claimed the prestigious award with over 250 points from second placed Cristiano Ronaldo to win the award. Paris Saint-Germain forward Kylian Mbappe finished fourth to round out the top five.

Among all the awards the victor of the women's Ballon d'Or was also announced, and Ada Hegerberg took the accolade after her performances for Lyon and Norway saw the former clinch the Champions League title.

The Men's Ballon d'Or - first presented in 1956 - was won by Croatia and Real Madrid playmaker Luka Modric. For me, everything pointed to Modric.

"I have to work to be in this place in the future".

The award is aptly named after former French and Real Madrid great Raymond Kopa, and the victor of the award is also selected by former Ballon d'Or winners.

Ronaldo came second in the polling, missing out on a record sixth award, followed by France forward Antoine Griezmann. The last player to win it before those two started dominating world soccer awards was Brazil midfielder Kaka with AC Milan in 2007.

Zidane won it in 1998 with Juventus and joined Real Madrid in 2001. He scored a hat trick against Spain at the World Cup but he failed to make an impression when Portugal lost to Uruguay in the round of 16.

Griezmann won both the Europa League and World Cup in 2018, the striker inspirational in the respective triumphs of Atletico Madrid and France.

"I'm counting on my team-mates in the club and the national team to be in Luka's place in the future". Modric had never previously been in the top three.

Before then, Ronaldo Nazario and Fabio Cannavaro won the award while at the club, in 2002 and 2006. Hegerberg is a three-time Women's Champions League victor with the French side and scored a tournament-record 15 times last season.

On a historic evening in Paris, the ceremony had a women's category for the first time since its inception in 1956, with Norway's Ada Hegerberg crowned the inaugural women's Ballon d'Or victor.

"I want to say thanks to France Football". "I want to end this speech with a message to all young girls in the world". Hegerberg refused and quickly left the stage.

Hegerberg played down the incident.

With the result widely known even before the ceremony, World Cup 2018 victor Griezmann said on his way into the building: "It's a pity that a Frenchman didn't win". The total points are then calculated and the player with the highest total will be the victor of the Ballon d'Or. "It's all about how we respect women's football". I didn't really think about it at the time to be honest.

"Sometimes you have to take tough decisions to stay true to yourself. I do not know".

Related news