Javier Baez misses out on 2018 Gold Glove award

Javier Baez misses out on 2018 Gold Glove award

Javier Baez misses out on 2018 Gold Glove award

The prizes for defensive excellence were announced Sunday night.

With the win, Greinke ties Ron Guidry, Phil Niekro and Kenny Rogers for seventh all-time among pitchers to win the award.

Andrew Benintendi #16 of the Boston Red Sox celebrates with Mookie Betts #50 after hitting a two-run home run in the fifth inning against the Houston Astros during game four of the American League Division Series at Fenway Park on October 9, 2017 in Boston, Massachusetts.

Atlanta added three Gold Gloves to its surprise NL East title this season.

Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado and second baseman DJ LeMahieu have been named winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award for their respective positions, the second consecutive season that Arenado and LeMahieu have both been awarded the Gold Glove. In 313 chances in 2018, he committed five errors for a.984 fielding percentage.

Arenado is the seventh third baseman in Major League Baseball history to win at least six Gold Gloves, the third NL third baseman to accomplish the feat (Scott Rolen, Mike Schmidt).

Here's a full list of the 2018 Gold Glove Award winners.

He's got a World Series ring, and now a Gold Glove to go along with it. The award is the ninth in Molina's storied career. The organization captured three Gold Gloves with outfielders Ender Inciarte and Nick Markakis and first baseman Freddie Freeman, the highest single-season total in franchise history since the award's inception in 1957.

Angels shortstop Andrelton Simmons and Royals left fielder Alex Gordon also won in the AL.

Related news