Serena Williams fined $17,000 for U.S. Open final conduct

Serena Williams fined $17,000 for U.S. Open final conduct

Serena Williams fined $17,000 for U.S. Open final conduct

"More voices are needed to do the same", she said. The rarely seen game penalty was the result of three code violations for Williams, the first after she was accused of receiving in-game coaching, the second for smashing a racket, while the third and final violation was dished out after Williams launched a tirade of abuse at Ramos.

At the next change of ends, Williams fumed, accusing Ramos of stealing a point from her. "I think that's the lesson we can all learn from this". She briefly disputed that ruling, saying cheating "is the one thing I've never done, ever".

"I can't sit here and say I wouldn't say he's a thief because I feel like he took the game from me", she said. Williams told the umpire, "I don't cheat to win. But I'm going to continue to fight for women".

"They're going to be allowed to do that because of today", she said.

Richard Ings, a former rules and competition chief for the ATP, defended Ramos and called on the sport's governing bodies to support him. I was just trying to focus on myself at that time.' You acknowledged the crowd one time when you walked out, were pretty focused after that.

Chair umpires typically receive gifts during trophy presentations, but Ramos was notably absent for the ceremony.

Meanwhile Billie Jean King said that Williams had called out a "double standard". What Serena has accomplished this year in playing her way back on to the tour is truly awesome. #Serena now claiming that men do this.

"Ramos might not have been wrong, but that doesn't make it right", Bryan Armen Graham wrote.

Overshadowed by the controversy was the fact that Osaka played brilliantly, with her inexperience perhaps helping her weather the weird circumstances of the second set of her 6-2, 6-4 win.

This left Ramos with no choice but to hand out a game penalty, meaning Williams was on serve but Osaka was just one game away from history.

"The chair umpire's decision was final and not reviewable by the Tournament Referee or the Grand Slam Supervisor who were called to the court at that time". "I stood up for what was right", Williams replied. You stole a point from me.

"Williams approached the net and told the umpire, "I don't cheat".

Williams put her arm around Osaka's shoulder.

But Brown said Williams had already received warnings for the coaching violations and racket abuse and should have known her subsequent abuse of Ramos would lead to the loss of a game.

"I know she was frustrated by the way the game ended, but the way she took a step forward after the final and gave Naomi all the credit says a lot in her favour", she added.

Osaka, playing against her hero, managed to keep her calm to see out the victory.

After the call, Twitter lit up with reactions.

In her post-match interview, Williams was asked how she would explain "what happened out there tonight" and how she could have "handled it differently" to her daughter-a question players like McEnroe were never asked about their children.

Related news