SP leader Naresh Agarwal joins BJP

SP leader Naresh Agarwal joins BJP

SP leader Naresh Agarwal joins BJP

"His comments regarding Jaya Bachhanji are improper and unacceptable", Swaraj said on Twitter. "That is even more painful", Agrawal said while expressing anger over Jaya being given a preference over him for re-entry to the Rajya Sabha by the Samajwadi Party. "I did not think it was appropriate to sideline me to give the Rajya Sabha ticket to someone who works in the film industry". Aggarwal, who joined the BJP, lashed out against SP chief Akhilesh Yadav for weighing his contribution to the Samajwadi Party against someone who "dances" and works in films.

During the press conference, Naresh also praised Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanth and Amit Shah but also maintained that his respect for Mulayam Singh Yadav and Ram Gopal Yadav is intact.

Welcoming the leader in BJP, she clarified that the defaming comments against anybody is not acceptable by the party.

However, his new party warned him that they did not like the comment made by him on actress Jaya Bachchan.

The BJP has fielded a ninth candidate for the 10 Rajya Sabha seats going to polls in Uttar Pradesh out of which the party is comfortably placed to win eight, in order to needle the new SP-Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) unity candidate for the 10th seat.

Agrawal also said he felt that he can not serve the entire country till he was in a national party. He was elected again in 2012 from Samajwadi Party.

Meanwhile, opposition including SP, Congress and RLD, too sensed the BJP move and submitted a letter of support to the BSP nominee Ambedkar.

"My society is already with BJP".

Agarwal has often changed parties in the last over 30 years of his political career. He has also stoked controversies.

He had earlier been with the Akhil Bhartiya Loktantrik Congress with Jagdambika Pal, Rajeev Shukla and Shyam Sunder Sharma that allied with the BJP government headed by Kalyan Singh in Uttar Pradesh in 1997. His whole team today joined the party. He subsequently joined the Bahujan Samaj Party before returning to the Samajwadi Party.

Related news