MP bypoll: Chitrakoot electorate hold Congress' 'hand'

MP bypoll: Chitrakoot electorate hold Congress' 'hand'

MP bypoll: Chitrakoot electorate hold Congress' 'hand'

In 2013, BJP's Surendra Singh Gaharwar had lost to Prem Singh by 12,000 votes.

The Congress has retained Chitrakoot seat in by-election despite Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan's addressing a dozen election meetings in the Assembly contituency and staying there for two days. Also, the BJP flew in Uttar Pradesh deputy chief minister Keshaw Prasad Maurya who asked for votes from his community members.

BJP MP Nand Kumar Chauhan talking to media said, "We fought in Chitrakoot to win but did not succeed".

A total of 257 polling booths with VVPAT (Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail) machines were set up for Chitrakoot Assembly bypoll 2017. After nine rounds of vote count, Congress is ahead BJP by over 19,000 votes. Even before the declaration of the by-poll schedule by the election commission of India, the ruling BJP had started preparing for the Chitrakoot bypolls and some of their big guns visited Chitrakoot and organised mass publict contact programmes.

Congress candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi secured 66,810 votes as against BJP nominee Shankar Dayal Tripathi's 52,677 in a contest necessitated by the death of sitting Congress MLA Prem Singh, 65, in May this year. "Many thanks to the people of #Chitrakoot for their faith and trust in the Congress party".

The Samajwadi Party leader also took a dig on the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led NDA government of its Goods and Services Tax (GST) and demonetisation steps, terming them the reasons since their reality has now been exposed before people. "The winds of change are in the air".

Related news